Citizens for Independent Redistricting Fort Worth




Redistricting Resources

Bruce Miller Interview

by By Eric Griffey Fort Worth

Read the full story by Eric Griffey here:

Bruce meets with Dana

Read the late breaking news here: News

Citizen Participation in Council Redistricting

There have been 3 public meeting, via Webex, with the Redistricting Task Force. Most of the speakers are in agreement with our goals, that the city needs to create an Independent Redistricting Commission (IRC) to draw the new 10 council member maps.

Redistricting Task Force live recording meeting

This is the recording of the Redistricting Task Force meeting on Feb. 4.

There was a motion to recommend to the city council the establishment of an IRC to redraw the council districts when the city goes from 8 to 10 districts in the 2023 municipal election.

The motion was defeated in a 5-5 tie vote. The following Task Force members voted in the affirmative: Sal Espino, Tracy Scott, Kent Bradshaw, Teresa Ayala, William Schur. Mr. Schur introduced the motion and demonstrated a possible time-line for the process.

A motion to establish a study group to consider how the city charter could be amended to include the adoption of an IRC in the future was approved.


Mark Dent for The Fort Worth Star-Telegram published this report January 21, 2021 in their online edition: FWST

January 21, 2021 Redistricting Task Force meeting

Citizens Map

Narrated by Bywrec Ellison

"This video explains what happened in the last redistricting cycle of 2010. The goal of our organization is to move the city to adopting an Independent Redistricting Commission (IRC) to draw the new 10 council member map for the 2023 municipal elections."

Citizens Map is on YouTube.

View all the Redistricting videos in one location.

Redistricting - Citizens vs the City

Redistricting Task Force

City of Fort Worth – In August 2020, the City Council appointed a Redistricting Task Force and charged them with "Evaluating the criteria and procedures by which the City Council has redrawn Council district boundaries in the past and, accordingly, advising the City Council about redistricting criteria and procedures that the City Council should use in the future."

Task Force members include:

  • Lorraine Miller, Chair
  • Salvador Espino representing District 2
  • Graham Norris representing District 3
  • Craig Allen representing District 4
  • Bert Williams representing District 5
  • Linda Kennedy representing District 6
  • Tony DeVito representing District 7
  • Tracy Scott representing District 8
  • Kent Bradshaw representing District 9
  • Bill Schur and
  • Teresa Ayala (appointed by Mayor Price)

Earlier in January, the task force presented an interim report on findings to the City Council. Ten key criteria were listed.

Citizens Map is on YouTube

View all the Redistricting videos in one location.

Town Hall meeting at
Como Community Center

recorded by Thomas March 5, 2020

links to additional reading material.

More Resources

Letters, Maps and Articles

Feb. 2020

South Hemphill Heights Neighborhood Association Supports Independent Maps

South Hemphill Heights Neighborhood Association

click image to enlarge

Write your Council Representative

Organize a Post Card Mailing Pary!

Use our printed postcards to fill out, sign and mail to your City Council District member. 

We also have a DIY file to print 4 postcards, front & back.  (Print on heavy card stock to meet USPS mailing requirements or save the PDF and take to a local commercial printer .)

Printable Postcards

District # Office, 200 Texas St., Fort Worth, Texas 76102


Or, email or call your council representative!

District 1: Mayor Mattie Parker

Telephone: 817-392-6118 | Fax: 817-392-2409

District 2: Carlos E. Flores

Telephone: 817-392-8802 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 3: Michael Crain

Telephone: 817-392-8803 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 4: Cary Moon

Telephone: 817-392-8804 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 5: Gyna Bivens

Telephone: 817-392-8805 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 6: Dr. Jared Williams

Telephone: 817-392-8806 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 7: Leonard Firestone

Telephone: 817-392-8807 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 8: Chris Nettles

Telephone: 817-392-8808 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:

District 9: Elizabeth Beck

Telephone: 817-392-8809 | Fax: 817-392-6187 | Email:


Find your district

Use OneAddress to find your district. Individual district maps are also available on council district pages.

Councilmembers are elected from the district in which they reside, with the exception of the mayor who is elected at large. The mayor is the official head of the city's government and represents Fort Worth on ceremonial occasions. The mayor is a voting member of the city council, presides over council meetings and represents the council to the public.

city of austin logo

Austin's Example

Austin, Texas successfully created a Citizens Redistricting commission that recreated their city council map.

Austin Charter

Details how an independent commission should be established.

"(C) The commission shall:

(1) conduct an open and transparent process enabling full public consideration of and comment on the drawing of district lines;
(2) draw district lines according to the redistricting criteria specified in this section; and
(3) conduct themselves with integrity and fairness. This selection process is designed to produce a commission that is independent from influence by the City Council and is reasonably representative of this city's diversity.

(D) The commission shall consist of 14 members."

View Charter

Austin Roadmap to Citizen Redistricting

roadmap cover

This 42 page booklet gives a personal history of how Austin citizens changed how the city council district maps are created.

On November 2012, the voters of Austin, Texas overwhelmingly approved an amendment to the City Charter that dramatically changed the city's election system and possibly provided a model for cities nationwide. Under the previous system, the City Council consisted of a mayor and six council members. All were elected citywide to numbered places on the council. Austin voters approved a new system consisting of a mayor (elected citywide) and ten council members, each of whom is elected from individual districts.

View PDF

Austin's Commission

Read the Final Report from the Austin Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission. This 43 page report was filed October 24, 2014.

View PDF

Austin's Aplication

Fort Worth can use Austin's applicaton as a template for our own redistricting commission.

View PDF

Redistricting News

Redistricting is a hot topic right now. Citizens in other cities and throughout Texas are grappling with redistricting and how best to create better representation for themselves. Results of the 2020 Census will affect many areas of our civic life.

News Articles

Join In!


Your support and participation will help make Independent Redistricting become a reality. We are just getting started to build a coalition of like-minded citizens who want a fair and citizen-drawn city council districts map. Get on our mailing list and keep informed.

Subscribe Form
Find us on